Glasgow City Council Welcome to Quarry Brae Primary School

Our Rich School History

We have a very rich history in the Parkhead community.

The original Quarry Brae school building was opened officially on the 9th of September 1904.  It was originally located at 139 Baird Street, which later was renamed to Crail Street.  The school building was designed by architects McWhannell and Rogerson.  In 1903, a temporary school building was opened, which later closed in June 1904.

The original school building was demolished in 2010 as part of a regeneration project.  The new Quarry Brae Primary School is located at 61 Crail Street, just north of the old building's location.


To read about the history of the school from opening to the 1950s, check out the Parkhead History website.

More information, and a few photographs, see The Glasgow Story.

(Photos below from Parkhead History website)

 Original Building from Parkhead History website

Original Building from Parkhead History website

Quarry Brae Duck from Parkhead History website

Quarry Brae Duck window from Parkhead History website

Quarry Brae Bell from Parkhead History website

(2010 demolition photo, courtesy of www.glescapals.com/streets/crailst.htm)

Demolition of old school building in 2010, from http://www.glescapals.com/streets/crailst.htm